Counting My Blessings

As I lay here in bed, overwhelmed with life worries and completely unable to sleep, I feel the need to be reminded of the good things God has given me.

The thought occurred to me that I should count my blessings. Literally count them. As in make a list and focus on being thankful. I like hooks and angles, so I’ve decided to make an alphabetical list of specific blessings, writing about them with candor. Sort of a systematically journal of gratefulness.

I have worries in my life. Who doesn’t? But God has given me so much more than the substance of my worries. Maybe by focusing on the good things I will find answers to the troublesome parts that are keeping me up at night.

I’m reminded of Horatio Spafford’s hymn of contentment:

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,

When sorrows like sea billows roll;

Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,

It is well, it is well, with my soul.

MY PRAYER:

Dear Heavenly Father, please create in me a grateful heart. Renew the joy of my salvation. Bring order to my disarray and peace to my life.

One thought on “Counting My Blessings

  1. Dear God, thank you so much for your blessings. Thank you for never leaving me. Thank you for not abandoning me in brokenness. Truly, You have restored my soul and filled me with joy.

Leave a Reply

