All the Poor and Powerless

The first time I heard the song All the Poor and Powerless by the worship duo All Sons and Daughters I was listening to the Relevant Podcast. I was driving down the road, running errands or shuttling kiddos and the song started. It was a moment of feeling completely blown away. Floored by the power of simplicity in lyric and melody. Humbled by God’s ability to reach into my busy schedule and whisper His love to broken and corrupt me.

All the poor and powerless
And all the lost and lonely
All the thieves will come confess
And know that You are holy

I heard myself in the lyrics. I have felt poor and powerless. I have felt lost and lonely. I have also experienced that place where the only possible response to the frail burden of my humanness is to look to the holiness of God. The song didn’t even play past the first chorus before I started shuttling backward on my iPod, seeking out the beginning for a second listen. And a third. And…

And all will sing out
Hallelujah
And we will cry out
Hallelujah

My eyes had teared up and my voice was rough, but I belted out that chorus with the passion of someone who knows what it feels like to be lost and then called home.

All the hearts who are content
And all who feel unworthy
And all who hurt with nothing left
Will know that You are holy

The song has been on my mind and lips again today as I think about landmarks and seasons of life. The thing that strikes me right now is that God’s holiness doesn’t change, no matter how drastically my heart and my situation may vary. When I am content and living in a place of rich blessing and abundance, God is holy and His love endures. When I am hurt and living in a place of deep sorrow and barrenness, God is holy and His love endures. My response should be the same also regardless of my situation or how disappointed I may feel. I should proclaim the glory of God in every season and every frame of mind.

I should, but I don’t. And I guess that is part of the frail burden of my humanness.

Lord, let my eyes be on You, let my heart beat with Your love and Your mercy, let my mind be filled with Your peace. No matter my situation, let me sing out praise to You.

Shout it
Go on scream it from the mountains
Go on and tell it to the masses
That He is God

___________________________

All The Poor and Powerless
Leslie Jordan and David Leonard
© 2011 Integrity’s Praise! /BMI and Integrity’s Alleluia! Music/SESAC CCLI#5881130

2 thoughts on “All the Poor and Powerless

  1. Pingback: Brokenness Aside | David Cosand

  2. Pingback: Brokenness Aside | Yep...It's Me

Leave a Reply

