Before, Now.

I’m struggling to see the you
that I fell in love with
the confident, exuberant,
relaxed you
who didn’t get caught up in the surface
who didn’t get lost in an image
who loved the underdog
and made me feel
valued
accepted
adored.

I’m wavering in my commitment
to love you no matter
what:
…comes
…changes
…gets lost.
To not give up
hope.
To not give up
Hope.

I’m trying to listen to
the voice of peace
of assurance
that God is in control…
that we are in His care…
that the you I loved will find her way

home.

Leave a Reply

