H is for Healing (Counting My Blessings 8/26)

There have been a few times in my life when I have had an illness that seemed to drag on and on and on. Not something serious or drastically life-altering, just run-of-the-mill sicknesses that usually go their course in a few days. But, for whatever reason, they hung on. And became draining. And exhausting. And began to tug at the edges of my heart and mind with nagging questions of whether recovery would ever come.

It’s easy to feel hopeless under such circumstances. To feel as though giving up would be so much easier than holding on.

I don’t know why my human eyes get so easily pulled away from the perfect love of my Maker. He who created me certainly knows my needs and my pains. He knows where I hurt, where I am frayed, and what it will take to piece me back together.

There is such comfort in knowing that my current state isn’t the place I’m doomed to remain in. I have a God who loves me and provides for me and makes a way for me to experience enduring joy and deep healing regardless of my situation. My broken heart doesn’t eliminate the complete wholeness He can breathe into me. My dashed expectations don’t preclude the merciful sustenance that He can pour out to me.

I have, honestly, been in a season of feeling like the heart-level sadness I’m feeling will just drag on and on and on. And, to be realistic, there is no guarantee that my human relationship situation will ever change. There is, however, a beautiful promise that the God who shaped my heart will always love me and hold me in His care. That is the healing…the genuine soul-level healing…that I truly need.

Hallelujah for being given what I need and not just what I demand. Hallelujah for a God who knows me better than I know myself.

Hallelujah for a perfect, loving Healer.

MY PRAYER:

Dear Heavenly Father, I come to you as someone who feels broken and torn and destroyed. Yet, I know that Your healing power is greater than my condition. It is more perfect than my infirmity. This tattered heart of mine will love again. These bruised hands will hold again. These clouded eyes will again look into the eyes of one who adores me. Thank You that Your grace is sufficient and that Your healing is perfect. Thank you, Lord, that I don’t have to be lost in hopelessness…I can find wholeness in Your healing love for me.

Leave a Reply

