morning dawns

 

“…where morning dawns and evening
fades
you call forth songs of joy.” – Psalm 65:8b

Anyone who reads what I write here must surely sense that my life is full of ups and downs. Correction: my life is full of hairpin turns of emotion that often make little sense. It seems like every day brings a range of feelings and outlooks and, honestly, I wish life was a little more consistent so I could know how to face each new morning.

Then I read a passage of Scripture like Psalm 65:8.

“Where morning dawns and evening fades you call forth songs of joy.” Where evening fades. Where morning dawns. It is like a promise that the darkness will come to an end and a new day will arrive and joy will flow as it once did. It is like a postcard from a beautiful destination that I can’t wait to see. Fresh air that I can’t wait to breathe into my burning lungs. Warm sun that will dry the tears that still cling after all of this time.

It is far too easy for me to see the dark of night and come to believe that it’s where I’m doomed to stay. As though mercy and life came to an end and the wasteland is my new permanent address. It isn’t. I’m headed somewhere so much better…morning will dawn.

And that morning is not just something here in this earthly realm. It is the promise of an eternity where wounds are healed and cries are soothed and hearts are restored. It is the promise that God is guiding the ship and ordering the days and drawing us closer to His presence.

And, truly, what response to that promise could be more fitting than a song of joy from a grateful heart?

Leave a Reply

