sisyphus

sisyphus

This morning, a friend mentioned to me that she eats ice cream sandwiches in the shower to cheer herself up.

It made me thing of Sisyphus.

It also made me think of the ways that I find myself doing the same thing over and over again, treading the same paths and patterns…the pursuits that seem like a great idea but which usually end in disappointment.

I am in this space of singleness, and that is okay. I’m not married, but I’m not legally divorced. I am, maybe, in a place of post-marriage. The in-between. The season of What Now?

I’m finding out who I am in the wake of disappointment and who I will be in the burgeoning spring of possibility, and I am looking beyond the moment to the horizon of hopefulness. There is a growing anticipation of the future for me. An increasing eagerness to see what will happen as this chapter of my life folds into the past and is replaced by the next page…the next passage…the next.

Will I continue to cycle through the shards of a broken relationship, or will I delight myself in the design of redemption and promise? Will I struggle beneath the weight of hostility, or will I embrace the liberating opportunity to begin again? Will I be exhausted by the burden of perceived abandonment, or will I joyfully accept the reality that I am never alone…never forgotten…never forsaken?

For Sisyphus, pushing the boulder up the hill was a punishment.

For me, taking the next step in this journey is a chance to see the faithfulness of a God who loves and redeems and covers and completes. There is freedom in that.

Eating ice cream in the shower isn’t hopeless.

Yes, the hot water wreaks havoc on the frozen dairy goodness…but nothing temporal lasts forever.

Finding the joy in the moment can be a good thing…a renewing thing.

And, it can be delicious.

This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!

2 Corinthians 5:17 New Living Translation

____________________

photo credit: Sisyphus, by Beth Scupham

Leave a Reply

