being chosen

IMG_0300.JPGThere is a moment from childhood that most of us can remember…most of us can still feel. That situation where teams are being formed…the battle lines are being drawn up…and, person by person, every one around you is being selected.

Chosen.

And you begin to wonder – no, worry – if they will choose you. Will they see your worth? Your skill? See you as desirable?

Or, will you be relegated to last place…the runt of the litter…the crumbs and dust at the bottom of the box of cereal?

The opposite of being chosen is being rejected. Rejection stings. It scars. It eats away at the edges of our confidence and self-image. It plants seeds of unworthiness and disdain and it drains away our ability to see outside of the pain of the moment. Rejection is a slammed door, a ripped photograph, a deleted contact…the cold sound of heels walking away.

Rejection, however, is a lie. It isn’t genuine. Because, truly, none of us has been rejected by perfect Love.

When the names are being called and we’re at the bottom of the roster…God hasn’t rejected us. When the person who promised to love and cherish decides that vows can be broken…God hasn’t rejected us. When the pink slip arrives, the diagnosis is dire, or the last chance effort still fails…God hasn’t rejected us.

This spring, I am incredibly blessed to be in a space of rejoicing. My heart is full and my mind is buzzing with gladness. I am seeing promise in every direction. It is, honestly, the exact opposite of what I felt a year ago or, even, two years ago. My feelings are wonderful, and God seems very close to me these days, but the truth is that He was just as close in the storm leading up to today as He is now. In the storm, in the sun, in the sorrow, in the rejoicing…God hasn’t rejected us.

38 And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. 39 No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:38-39 NLT

I am thankful that I haven’t been rejected by the One who made me.

And, I am delighted that I have been chosen by the one whom I love.

One thought on “being chosen

  1. Sad I can’t like it if I don’t have WordPress. So LIKE!!!! Take that WordPress.

Leave a Reply

