brokenness aside, revisited

IMG_0628_20130618185352909

In March, 2012, I wrote a blog post about the song Brokenness Aside…an amazing work of worship music by the group All Sons and Daughters. I won’t restate my original thoughts on the beauty or impact of this song, but it is definitely worth a read.

The past week or so, my oldest daughter and I have been talking about singing a song together at church this summer. I’ve sung in church many times, both in special music and in worship leading, and singing with others is not a new thing. My sister or my ex-wife have been my typical partners in song…until now. Driving home from errands today, Abigael and I began to sing Brokenness Aside and we quickly found our common voice…our harmony…our shared sonic space.

It was beautiful.

The song worked, largely, because of the relationship I have with my daughter. She is a kindred spirit and one of my very favorite people in the world. She is, truly, a gift and blessing to me and a constant reminder of the goodness of a God who shares His riches with undeserving oafs like me.

Once we reached home, I got my guitar and we sang through the song several times in a more formal way. I asked Abby if she was willing to record the song and, to my delight, she agreed. Standing in front of the microphones with my beautiful daughter was an absolute privilege. Hearing her young voice alongside my aging tones was soul-nourishing.

Something so intricate as a beautiful lyric set to a memorable melody. Something so simple as voices reaching across generation lines…across decades of natal distance. Something so transient as sonic waves.

Something which brings me such happiness…here for your listening.

Leave a Reply

