corresponding puzzle pieces

image

I no longer believed in the idea of soul mates, or love at first sight. But I was beginning to believe that a very few times in your life, if you were lucky, you might meet someone who was exactly right for you. Not because [she] was perfect, or because you were, because your combined flaws were arranged in a way that allowed two separate beings to hinge together. – Lisa Kleypas

In this life, there is no such thing as perfection. We are all flawed…all bruised…all banged up and knocked about by the circumstances of living. It is part of our weakness, and part of our beauty.

We have a tendency to hide those flaws…to arrange ourselves in such a way as to conceal the rough edges. It’s pride, I suppose, mixed with insecurity. We want to appear desirable so we will be smiled upon…approved of…chosen. Wrinkles and tattered corners would only get in the way…right?

As a man who has been tossed about a fair amount, I have my share of blemishes – both earned and self-fashioned. As I have navigated the events of the past couple of years one of the blessings I have arrived at is a willingness to own those blemishes…to stop hiding from them…to allow them to be seen so that others can recognize the God-breathed grace that contrasts them.

The glory of God is so beautifully evident when set upon the canvas of imperfect lives.

The quote that opened this blog post arrived in my inbox tonight…a sweet gift from the woman I love. The line about combined flaws being arranged in a way that allows us to hinge together…it’s a powerful idea. I could spend my life looking for the perfect mate…the spotless gem who would make my dreams come true. It would be a fruitless search, though. She doesn’t exist any more than does the silly notion that I have it all together.

What I have found, however, is a breathtakingly wonderful imperfect woman who somehow meshes with my own imperfection to form something stunning. We fit…we compliment…we add up to something much better than either one of us on our own. It is a mystery, this notion of two broken hearts being reshaped and reformed and prepared for one another. Further evidence that there are far greater things at play in this life than the mere stuff of flesh and blood.

Shortly after my love and I began seeing one another, I noticed a song called Such Great Heights by the group The Postal Service. A particular section of the lyric filled my heart and mind with resonant recognition:

I am thinking it’s a sign that the freckles
In our eyes are mirror images and when
We kiss they’re perfectly aligned
And I have to speculate that God himself
Did make us into corresponding shapes like
Puzzle pieces from the clay – “Such Great Heights” by The Postal Service

I know what it is to be lost and tossed aside. I know what it feels like to be alone. And, now, I know what it means to be a corresponding shape.

In this life, there is no such thing as perfection. We are all flawed…all bruised…all banged up and knocked about by the circumstances of living. It is part of our weakness, and – truly – it is part of our beauty.

One thought on “corresponding puzzle pieces

  1. Pingback: Yep…It's Me | K is for Kisses (Counting My Blessings 11/26)

Leave a Reply

