wow

For a variety of reasons, I have been thinking a lot about intimacy lately. Marriage – like life, in general – is complicated. There are beautiful times and there are gut-wrenching struggles. The hunger for intimacy in the midst of those ups and downs is a big part of what makes us human…we yearn for connection.

I was reading Meg Conley’s blog tonight. The first thing you should know is that I am not Meg’s target audience (I don’t have the ovaries to qualify). The second thing you should know (it’s actually the more important fact…) is that she is an insanely gifted writer. About a third of the way down the post I was perusing I read a paragraph that took my breath away. Really. It made me stop…silent…and wait for the words to finish their graceful ripple through my mind. With my next inhale, I knew I needed to share it here.

Sex is at once so much more than anything else and so much less. It is a sacred language only the two of you speak and a good laugh. It is slow and love and fast and lust. It is give and take. It is an escape from the everyday and a return to yourself. It is reality and fantasy. It is need right now and forever I promise. It is giggles and fizzles and fireworks and almost there and don’t let go. It is important.

I am cautious about reposting anything that another person has created. My hope is that Meg will recognize this as the massive compliment it is intended as and not slam me with litigation over infringement. Her words are simply too powerfulbeautifulshatteringinspiringhumblingremarkable not to repeat.

So, there you go.

Leave a Reply

