vow

When my wife and I decided late last year to get married, we knew we wanted to write our own vows. It was a daunting process for me…distilling my feelings and desires and ideas and commitments into a couple minutes worth of words. I went through many drafts before I settled on the version I’ve decided to post below.

Like any promise, it is crucial to revisit it from time to time…realigning where I am with where I promised to be. That is my intent in sharing this vow.

11871759073_7c3f7e3657_z

I will never forget the day I met you.

The rush of hopeful expectation I felt as I drove to find you…to hear your voice for the first time.

When I saw you sitting in a chair on the sidewalk outside of this coffee shop, with the glow of sunset playing through your hair, all of that expectation became reality.

Almost as soon as we started dating I began to think of being your husband.

When you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.

You have been to me a beautiful reminder that mercy is real and God’s love never fails.

You have shown me selflessness and grace…understanding and encouragement…vulnerability and authenticity.

You are not blind to my shortcomings…but you see them not as failures. You see them as reminders that we are two flawed people who have found the beauty of perfection in our love for one another.

Today, I have the deep honor of marrying you…of giving you my heart and my hand officially and publicly. Of telling our friends, and family – and anyone who happens to be walking by right now – that I want to spend my life with you.

I promise to never stop kissing you…to never stop reaching for your hand…to never end a day without whispering my love for you.

I promise to listen to your concerns, champion your causes, and pursue dreams and adventures by your side.

I promise to kill any spider that dares enter our home and trust that you will protect me from any intruding mice.

I promise to love your children, which is easy because they are part of you…and to thank you for the love you so willingly give to my children.

Life can be messy…and I recognize that not every moment will feel beautiful. But there is no one on earth I would rather face every new day with than you.

Debbie, I promise to love you completely, wholeheartedly, without condition.

I would be honored and humbled to have you as my wife.

Leave a Reply

