About the Bald Food Dude

Bald Food Dude and his sidekick - the Curly-Haired Chick - explore Crater Lake National Park from the safety of their snowshoes.

Bald Food Dude and his sidekick – the Curly-Haired Chick – explore Crater Lake National Park from the safety of their snowshoes.

I’m just a guy with a deep appreciation of food, a love of cooking, and a passion for sharing a table with friends and family.
Also, I’m bald.

Okay…this may sound kind of negative, but one of my earliest food-related memories involves me sitting at the kitchen table with a plate of food that I refused to eat. My mom was making good on her threat to have me stay at the table until my dinner was gone. Wasting food – even food I absolutely, positively, truly had no intention of eating – was not an option.

Honestly, it’s not a bad memory. It actually cracks me up because pretty much every other food-related memory is a great one. Cooking and eating were a big part of growing up. My mom is famous for making waaaaay too much food and insisting that you take some with you when you leave. I catch myself doing the same thing now!

Something you should know about me is that I’m not a chef. I don’t have any formal culinary training or pedigree…I’m just a guy who loves to cook and loves to share the table with the people in my life.

My day job is being a 3rd grade teacher to 27 tiny people who have an amazing supply of energy. I love integrating technology into my classroom, so I started blogging with my students back in 2006. It opened my eyes to the incredible connections which can be made across geographic borders through blogs. I began to collaborate with teachers around the country, keeping track of what my students and I were learning online.

So, how did I make the jump from classroom blogger to food blogger? Simple! I just decided it was time to get out of my comfort zone and chronicle something that I love.

The Bald Food Dude/Curly-Haired Chick family get ready to zipline through the forests of Southern Oregon. (It was an absolute blast!!!)

The Bald Food Dude/Curly-Haired Chick family get ready to zipline through the forests of Southern Oregon. (It was an absolute blast!!!)

A note about the recipes and posts you’ll find on Bald Food Dude. It’s stuff that I love, that my family (all those beautiful people in that photo over there!) loves, that is good for you or not-so-good for you, that is relatively easy to make, and that is pretty dang tasty. Remember what I said earlier…I’m not a trained, professional chef. I make mistakes all the time and try my best to learn from them. If you think of something I should try differently, let me know!

So there you go. You’ve found your way to the Bald Food Dude and I’m glad you’re here. Leave a comment so I know how you enjoyed your stay.

David – The Bald Food Dude

Leave a Reply

