Fried Egg Sandwich with Spinach & Feta

Fried-Egg-Sandwich-Feta-Spinach

It happens sometimes. You wake in the middle of the night, hoping that sleep will come back your way…but your mind and stomach decide that it’s time to eat. This morning, in the early hours when I should have been soundly slumbering, it happened to me. And all I could think about was a fried egg sandwich.

Egg sandwiches and I go back a long time. As a kid, I loved scrambled egg sandwiches dipped in hot chocolate. (I know…it sounds weird. My sister and I may be the only people on earth who think it’s delicious, but I’m okay with that.) As a young man, I discovered an incredible curry egg salad sandwich at a local deli and developed a lunchtime addiction.

These days, however, I’m pretty focused on the miraculous convergence of flavors and textures found in a fried egg sandwich like I made this morning. The cold sweetness of tomato…the crisp bite of baby spinach…the bright, creamy tanginess of feta… It almost makes sleeplessness worthwhile!

Fried Egg Sandwich with Spinach & Feta
Recipe Type: Breakfast
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 10 mins
Total time: 15 mins
Serves: 1 sandwich
Ingredients
  • 1/2 tablespoon butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 slices sourdough bread
  • baby spinach
  • tomato, sliced
  • feta cheese, crumbled
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • balsamic vinegar
Instructions
  1. In a large skillet, melt butter over medium high heat. Crack the egg into skillet and cook to your desired firmness, seasoning with salt and pepper.
  2. While the egg is cooking, toast the sourdough bread and slice the tomato.
  3. Place tomato slices and spinach on one piece of toasted bread.
  4. Top with fried egg and feta crumbles, and drizzle with balsamic vinegar.
  5. Add the other slice of toasted bread and serve warm.
Leave a Reply

