London Fog

London FogWhen I met my sidekick – the Curly-Haired Chick – I had a cup of London Fog in front of me. I was already a fan of the aromatic blend of Earl Grey tea, vanilla syrup, and milk…but that pretty much clinched its status as my favorite hot beverage.

I’m not certain how I first discovered London Fog. It’s not that old of a drink, as far as drinks go. The origins are a bit sketchy, but it seems to have originated in the Pacific Northwest (maybe Oregon, maybe Washington, or possibly British Columbia) about a decade ago. Maybe because of the name, but I particularly like drinking it on overcast, drizzly days. It’s a happy shot of warmth.

The night the Curly-Haired Chick and I tied the knot, I had a cup of London Fog in my hand. It seemed like a very appropriate choice since we got married in the same coffee spot where we first met. Now, a sip of London Fog seems like a small anniversary.

London Fog
Recipe Type: Beverage
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: 3 mins
Total time: 8 mins
Serves: 1 cup
Ingredients
  • Earl Grey tea (either bag or loose leaf)
  • Boiling water
  • 1 shot of vanilla syrup
  • Milk, half and half, or cream
Instructions
  1. Boil your water and pour a bit in the cup to heat it up. I usually swirl it around a little and then pour the water out.
  2. Next, put your Earl Grey tea (either bag or loose leaf) in the cup and pour hot water over it, leaving nearly an inch of space at the top.
  3. After allowing the tea to steep for 3-4 minutes, remove the tea bag (or tea ball).
  4. Add 1 shot of vanilla syrup and top off with milk, half and half, or cream. (I sometimes froth the milk before adding it, which is a nice variation.)
  5. Think happy thoughts and enjoy your London Fog.
Leave a Reply

