Mojo Red Raw Juice

Red JuiceA guy I’ve known for years (I mean YEARS!) had a raw juice-driven personal transformation a few years ago. Web (that’s his name) was having some pretty significant health issues and was fed up with medication…so he decided to shift to a raw food diet focused, largely, on juicing. The outcome was so positive and impressive that he and his wife opened a great business in Ashland, Oregon called NW Raw.

One of my favorite concoctions on their menu is Mojo: a bold, zippy blend of carrot, apple, beet, kale, apple, and ginger. It starts with a nice sweetness, but follows quickly with a gingery/citrus edge that reminds you not to take it too lightly. The thing I like best about Mojo is the way it makes me feel. It’s invigorating (sheesh…now I sound like a 19th-century snake oil salesman!) and refreshing.

The first time I tasted Mojo was a couple summers ago when I was nearing the end of a 30-mile bike ride. I was pretty worn out when I stopped at the Farmers’ Market and found the NW Raw booth, but a few sips of this glorious red nectar kicked me in the riding spandex-covered butt and got me back to pedaling down the road.

When the Curly-Haired Chick and I decided to start making juice at home, this was one of the first things we tried to replicate. I often take it to school as my lunch, and I feel a difference in my energy and focus when I skip it.

A little postscript…the combination of beet and kale gives Mojo a bit of an earthy flavor. Honestly, don’t let that steer you away. Even if it’s an acquired taste, it’s very much worth it. The health benefits of beet root are significant. It detoxifies and protects your liver, can lower blood pressure, and is a rich source of dietary antioxidants.

Kale, likewise, is an incredibly rich source of nutrients. It is packed with iron and vitamin K, fights inflammation, boosts immunity, and is a powerhouse ally to your heart health. What’s NOT to love about this juice?

C’mon…embrace the Mojo and get your red juice on today.

Mojo Red Raw Juice
Recipe Type: Beverage
Cuisine: Vegan, Juice, Raw Food
Author: NW Raw/Bald Food Dude
Prep time: 10 mins
Total time: 10 mins
Serves: 1 quart
A bold, invigorating raw juice that will energize your activities and bolster your health.
Ingredients
  • 4-5 stalks fresh kale
  • 2 Granny Smith apples
  • 1 inch of ginger root
  • 1/2 lemon, peeled
  • 1 medium beet root
  • 4 medium carrots
Instructions
  1. Wash and prep your fruit and vegetables. I peel only the lemon. The carrot, apple, ginger, and beet can all keep their skin on.
  2. Feed the ingredients into your juicer in the order shown. I use an Omega masticating juicer and absolutely love it. I’ve found that starting with the leafy greens, then moving to soft fruit or vegetables, and finishing with the tougher roots is a good way to maximize juice yield.
  3. Raw juice oxidizes quickly, reducing some of the health benefits. We store juice in glass mason jars and use it within a day or two of making it.
  4. Chill and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

