more than i can handle

like to drown

Today, a man I greatly respect published a blog post that spoke to a deep part of my heart. Garris Elkins, who was once my pastor and still inspires me on a regular basis with his writing, looked at the phrase “God will never give you more than you can handle”.

I’m in a place that feels like it’s more than I can handle, yet I’ve had several people assure me – in well-intentioned words – that God never gives us such things. So, why do I feel like I’m lost? Why do I feel like I’m drowning? Why do I feel completely unprepared and alone in a pain that nags and gnaws at my insecurities?

Garris’ blog post suggests that God often gives us things we can’t handle because such things require us to trust in Him..in His strength…in His rescue.

My task is to understand that I’m unable to navigate this on my own…and hold on to the slippery fragment of faith that I don’t have to. That God is strong enough to do exceedingly more than I possibly can do. That, even though this thing I’m experiencing is more than I can handle, I will be okay.

In the overwhelming situations of life, where your only remaining option is God, you will find all you have to offer will be an expression of faith the size of a mustard seed. This offering will appear small and dwarfed by the impossibility of the problem you face, but that seed contains tremendous potential when touched by God. By itself it is only a little seed. When touched by God it becomes a miracle.

I honestly don’t know how this is all going to turn out, but I know where my help will come from. I know that I don’t have enough to do anything…but I have more than enough in Him.


image source: aimanness photography

Leave a Reply

