unfolding

unfolding tree

There is a tree outside my classroom that serves as a harbinger of spring’s arrival. It is a whispered hint that warm weather and fragrant petals are on their way. When I walk down the breezeway and first notice the emerging blooms, it never fails to make me smile in hopefulness.

My life, right now, feels like it is at that point of emergence…like beauty is arriving and unfolding layer by layer. I have come through the darkness and pain of winter’s disappointment. I have survived – by the sweet, healing grace of God – the sadness of loss. I have recognized the sustaining peace of Christ in the loving words and quiet understanding of friends and family members who have kept my heart beating.

And now, joy is returning.

Look, the winter is past, and the rains are over and gone.

The flowers are springing up, the season of singing birds has come, and the cooing of turtledoves fills the air.

The fig trees are forming young fruit, and the fragrant grapevines are blossoming.

Rise up, my darling! Come away with me, my fair one!

Song of Solomon 2:11-13

God is so profoundly faithful. He knows my deepest needs and He shows Himself at just perfect moment. He has brought people into my life to remind me of good things. He has opened doors of service through worship that have been closed for years…and my heart is rejoicing because of it. He has shown me how to cherish the beauty of the past few years without being overwhelmed by the loss.

Joy is returning. Peace is sustaining. Life is unfolding.

And I have been made glad.

Leave a Reply

