now > then

The good old days…they’re a place we humans find ourselves looking back on with a pretty good degree of frequency.

“It seems like only yesterday”…it’s a phrase we parents find ourselves uttering at what seems like every milestone of our children’s lives.

The truth is that the past might hold a wealth of beautiful experiences and treasured memories. The flipside truth is that it can also hold plentiful pain. Both extremes living in tandem, fluidly moving along a spectrum of ups and downs.

My challenge to myself is to recognize Grace in the here. To find Joy in the now. The promises of God are outside of time, as God, Himself, is. When I read that the Lord has done great things for us, it is a truth that transcends a specific moment. It is a reality that is eternal and consuming. And, because or that, I am filled with joy.

I am in a season of seeing God’s blessings at every turn. I have submitted to some things I’ve known I’ve needed to do for a long time but kept weaseling out of…and I’m seeing fruit from that obedience. (Please don’t see that as my little version of a prosperity gospel where I do something and then it makes God do something…it is so not something like that.) Sometimes it’s challenging to see those “great things” the Lord is doing. Right now, in my life, they’re easy to spot. And I am so ridiculously thankful.

The moment I’m in is one I have a great deal of control over…at least control to how I respond. I can’t change the good old days and I can’t go back to yesterday, but I can revel in what God is doing in the here and now.

That’s what I’m trying to do.

And I am filled with joy.

Leave a Reply

